Last week we announced some new tools for fighting spam and promised a follow-up when we were ready with more features. Today we're releasing the ability for any TypePad user to block spammers. This has the effect of:
- Removing the profile you block from your Followers list.
- Preventing the profile owner you block from following you again (unless you Unblock them).
- Preventing the profile owner you block from seeing any updates about your activity in their dashboard.
You can block spammers from two areas of TypePad:
- You can visit a profile page and click the "Block" button that is now under the profile photo.
- You can visit your Followers page and block anyone you'd prefer not to follow you. Please note: because we want to give you the chance to Unblock someone from that page if you made a mistake, you will not see a blocked user disappear from your Follower list until you refresh the page.
Once you've blocked someone you can unblock them by visiting their profile page again.
Here is what you'll see on a user's profile page:
And here is what you'll see on your Followers page:
As previously announced, we're going to continue to identify and clean up spammer accounts. While doing that we hope the new Block feature will help you take full control over your Followers list to remove anyone that looks like a spammer and keep your blog spic 'n span.