Submit Your Top 10 List to Blogs.com
Changing the URL (Filename) of Your Post

AutoSave to the rescue

We know how frustrating it is to lose a post before you've have a chance to save it -- whether to a browser window closed accidentally, a power outage that shuts down your PC, or a spilled cup of tea that shorts out your laptop. So, we're very happy to announce that we're adding AutoSave -- one of your top feature requests -- to the new TypePad Compose screen. This feature will be rolled out to everyone on the new platform over the coming week.

Here's how it works:

TypePad now automatically saves your post (or page) every 15 seconds...

Autosave_last_saved_2

If you lose a post before saving or publishing, return to the Compose screen where TypePad will give you the option to recover it...

Autosave_recover_it

When you click "Recover it", TypePad recovers the last saved version of the post...

Autosave_recovered

There is a small group of you whose blogs are still in the process of being migrated to the new platform (we want to make sure we make the transition as smooth as possible for you) but we should be on track, as Ben predicted, to have everyone on the new platform by the end of the year.

Comments

Mark

I'm delighted to hear about the new features. At the same time, it's a little off-putting for this loooong-time customer to be hearing about them ... and still not be able to access them. How did a long-term customer with a sprawling site wind up in the "small group" that hasn't yet migrated to the new platform?

Katie Konrath

Oh thank you! I can't wait for my blog to be switched over.

Now, could Typepad come up with a function so readers could print an individual post with the blog banner intact? Then everything would be perfect!

laanba

Thank you so much for this feature! It is so hard to recreate a post when it gets lost to the ether. And of course it always happens on long posts that you spent forever working on instead of the short posts that you can quickly recreate in a minute. I love all the great new features!

serge the concierge

I noticed that feature while writing my posts yesterday.

Thanks a million.

I have been asking for it for the longest time.

Serge
http://www.sergetheconcierge.com
'The French Guy from New Jersey'

thrifty_misspriss

arrggg! I just lost my post because I did not save it while I was composing it! This happens all the time to me and I'm so frustrated! I'm happy TYPEPAD will save it for me so I don't have to think about it!

Susan RoAne

GREAT! Having lost posts in the past, this AutoSave is a time saver. I sometimes use my posts in my books and being able to save my thoughts is crucial.
BTW, have found that the new "preview" is not as intuitive as the former vintage and can't seem to use it.

Admittedly I am not a techno whiz but have been a typepad blogger for over four years. The easier you can make it for me, the better blogging is.

THANKS!

Susan RoAne

Well, Auto save didn't. I just lost an entire post... again.

This is more than frustrating.

Susan RoAne

benjaminism, holiday halliday, slippers, ben ben

Without a doubt a great idea, the number of times my posts have been lost due to me not saving... Thanks you guys are life savers...

David Ewart

The "recover it" message seems to be showing up when I am working on a blog different from the one that has been previously auto-saved.

When this happened the first time, I did recover the post - and this resulted in creating a duplicate post within the second blog.

A great feature though - even if a little disconcerting to get used to at first.

Betty Byrnes

I had the same problem with the "recover it" message showing up in a different blog. And that was after I had saved it to the blog it was supposed to be on!

It really threw me when I saw the message because I knew I had save it on the other blog.

I agree, it is a great feature; but it needs to do the "recovery" in the webblog where it belongs.

Emma

This is a total and utter LIFE SAVER.

Thank you guys, so much. I can't tell you how many posts I've lost in the past - BEYOND irritating.

camelama

I get annoyed that, right after I've published a post, Auto-save is still telling me it can recover the post that was saved 2 minutes ago. Um. Yeah, don't need it, I just published it! Grr. Could auto-save please stop after you hit publish? I want to start composing a new post, I don't *want* the auto-saved old post. If I hit the "Begin a new post" button, I shouldn't be offered the auto-save - I've indicated a *new* post.

Or, could I turn the feature off entirely? I don't compose and mull and ponder in typepad, I start a post and publish within a few seconds.

Don't like this cluttering up my "new post" compose screen at all, at all, especially after I've *published* the post.

Ginevra

this is something that we're working on fixing now. it's a tough one to reproduce, but we'll get it! Please let me know if you have any other questions.

oregand

It looks as a great feature but it doesn't seem to work when you need it. Firefox freezed a second before I saved many changes I did to a post, and I was never offered the Revering it option when I came back. Besides, when you work onto a post, it's getting easy to hit the Delete this post Button, because the saving buttons keep moving all the time. Can't you make them stable please?

Ginevra

hey Oregand - we're working on this now. it's a tough bug to reproduce, but if you file a help ticket too, and let us know what happened, that might help us! Thanks!

The comments to this entry are closed.